Knowledge Breeds Success

I had the pleasure this week of being the guest speaker at the Association of New Jersey Chiropractors (ANJC) Senior Advisory Committee luncheon. My firm, iMedia Public Relations, has been working with the ANJC for the past year to raise awareness for chiropractic care. The Advisory Group consists of nine chiropractors that meet on a quarterly basis to discuss issues affecting chiropractic care in New Jersey. The group has a combined 400 years of experience. Two of the members, Dr. Al Powers and Dr. Bill Shipley, have been in the industry for 58 years.

As I outlined activities that we have undertaken to promote chiropractic over the past year, and discussed plans for new marketing initiatives, I was struck, not only by the interest that these esteemed practitioners showed in the presentation, but by the challenging questions they posed and advice they offered. I realized I was engaged in a dialogue with the Encyclopedia Britannica of Chiropractic knowledge. What a blessing.

These were individuals that are now treating a third generation of family members. I realized that I not only had a worthy audience, but I now had a focus group to bounce ideas off of in regards to publicizing chiropractic care. I was a novice tapping into an unlimited depth of knowledge.  For that, I thank Dr. Mark Magos for inviting me to speak and for all of the committee members for sharing their experiences with me. Thanks to Dr. Fred Pine, Dr. Powers, Dr. Ripley, Dr. Michael Sherman, Dr. Jay Gilden, Dr. Frank Zaccaria, Dr. Frank Stiso and Dr. Sig Miller, ANJC Executive Director.

This dialogue  made me realize that we often take our own knowledge and experience and that of our colleagues and clients too lightly.

When positioning my firm to a prospective new client, one of my selling points is my 23 years of public relations experience. Clients are told their program will have hands-on supervision by me. This is a strong point to make, but experience doesn’t always guarantee winning the business or success with the program. There still needs to be proper execution. What also leads to success is the ability to listen and learn.

I’ve always valued the lessons I was taught in this profession by those that paved the path before me and tried to instill lessons onto the ranks of young talent I’ve tried to nurture over the years. However, one of the most important aspects to success in the communications field is the ability to gain insight from others.
By keeping your ears to the ground and communicating with clients at all times, you can deflect or correct any potential problems that come up while strengthening the relationship. By listening to your employees and staying connected with them, you can see what problems they are facing, what solutions you can offer, or make sure that needed corrections in behavior or work practices are made before they become major headaches for you.

No matter what, continue to use the knowledge resources at hand. Whether they are your mentors in the industry, trusted members of your networking groups, clients, colleagues or a group of veteran chiropractors, don’t be afraid to listen to them. You’ll realize that their counsel will only make you better. And, by sharing your own knowledge, you’ll impact others as well.

Tom Cosentino

Leave a Reply

